Miller-Converse Lecture Series

The series is the University of Michigan's preeminent lecture series on American Electoral Politics. The Series honors the legacy of CPS Founder Warren Miller and former CPS Director Philip Converse. Speakers have included Morris P. Fiorina, David Sears, Sidney Verba, Samuel L. Popkin, James A. Stimson, Virginia Sapiro, Larry M. Bartels, M. Kent Jennings, and John R. Zaller.


2019 Lecture

Diana Mutz (University of Pennsylvania) delivered the 2019 Miller-Converse lecture on April 11, 2019. Drawing on evidence from her book in progress, Mutz presented survey and experimental evidence on the psychological underpinnings of attitudes toward international trade.

A recording of the event is available below:




Lectures take place annually in April.

Past Series



If you would be interested in contributing financial support, you may do so by clicking the "Give Online" button below.

Every gift is important and makes a difference. Thank you!