Pierce Awards

The Roy Pierce Scholars Fund provides summer support for two graduate students in the University of Michigan Political Science Department to work with a member of CPS faculty. The Pierce Fund honors Roy Pierce, who for almost 50 years was associated with Michigan's Department of Political Science. He became a researcher in the Center for Political Studies in the 1960s and remained active there until his death. Roy was a leading scholar of French politics and a creative practitioner of genuinely comparative research.

Current Award Winners

2017 Winning Proposals:
Jessica Sun/Scott Tyson
Charles Crabtree/Yuri Zhukov
Megan Ryan/Nahomi Ichino
Erin Cikanek/Nick Valentino

Application Process

If you have any questions about the award or the application process, please visit the Contact Us page.


The Pierce Awards are funded entirely through donations. If you would be interested in contributing financial support, you may do so by clicking the "Give Online" button below.

Every gift is important and makes a difference. Thank you!

Past Award Winners

2016 Winning Proposal:
Nick Valentino/James Newburg Ted Brader/Hwayong Shin Ken Kollman/James Strickland

2015 Winning Proposal:
Nahomi Ichino/Peter Carroll

2014 Winning Proposals:
Robert Mickey/Christina Kinane and Nicholas Valentino/Fabian Guy Neuner

2013 Winning Proposals:
Jenna Bednar/Srinivas Parinandi and Rocio Titiunik/Andrew Feher

2012 Winning Proposals:
Brian Min/Jowei Chen/Vanessa Cruz and Jana von Stein/Laura Seago

2011 Winning Proposals:
Ted Brader/Timothy Ryan and Brian Min/James Atkinson

2010 Winning Proposals:
Jowei Chen/Kate Bradley and Andrew Kerner/Alton Worthington

2009 Winning Proposals:
Robert Franzese/Valenta Kabo and Rob Salmond/Cassandra Grafstrom

2008 Winning Proposals:
Robert Franzese/Kenichi Ariga and Jana von Stein/Johannes Urpelainen

2007 Winning Proposals:
Allen Hicken/Megan Reif and Anna Grzymala-Busse/Yoshikuni Ono

2006 Winning Proposal:
Mary Gallagher/Shijian Li

2005 Winning Proposals:
Allen Hicken/Jennifer Epley and Cara Wong/Laura Potter








Alton WorthingtonI would like to thank you again for your support, both on this project specifically and in my progress as a scholar generally. The Award allowed me both to pursue a research project with an excellent faculty co-author and to have sufficient financial security to devote time to preparing for exams and prospectus-writing. I am honored to be part of a small, but noteworthy, group of Pierce Scholars, and I could not imagine being at the stage I am right now without the help I received along the way.
   - Alton Worthington, 2010


Kate Bradley I used the Pierce Award money to work with Prof. Jowei Chen on a paper on health politics. The paper remains a high priority for me since I expect that it will be my first publication, and will result in my first conference presentation opportunity as well as improved chances on the job market down the road. The project with Jowei has been one of the highlights of my grad school experience and I remain grateful to you for giving me the opportunity to do some research outside of my dissertation.
   - Kate Bradley, 2010